The British Micromount Society Symposium for 2009, was held at the University of Leicester on the second  floor of the Charles Wilson Building on Saturday 19th & Sunday 20th September.

There were awards and trophy's presented and the winners are shown below.

Sheila Harper & Steve Hebdige from the Chichester Guest House in Newquay, Cornwall, received an honorary Life Membership in recognition of their outstanding services to Mineralogy and in particular for the dedication to members of the BMS during the many years they have run their courses.

Richard Belson of Norwich was awarded the Founders Cup, which is given each year to someone who has contributed to and enhanced the standing of the Society.

Martin Gale of West Tilbury was awarded the Mike Rothwell trophy by Trevor Bridges, for his constant work on both the Newsletter and as one of the Symposium organizers

There were also three competitions:

Micromount, Micro Mineral and Best Photograph.


British Micromount Society
Second Place - Clinoclase, Wheal Gorland, St. Day, Cornwall from Roy Starkey
Third Place - Bismuthinite on Fluorite, 290 level, South Crofty Mine, Camborne, Cornwall, from Roy Starkey
First Place - Scorodite and Pharmacosiderite, Ting Tang Mine, Cornwall from Mark Oddy
First Place - Brochantite on Goethite, Relistian Mine, Gwinear,
Cornwall from Robbie Selley
Second Place - Childrenite on Quartz
Wheal Crinnis, Carlyon Bay, St Austell, Cornwall from Hary Critchley
Third Place - Pyromorphite on Goethite, Mount Section, Perran Iron Mine, Perranporth, Cornwall, from Robbie Selley
Best Photograph was by Robbie Selley details to follow
This is a large file and will take a while to open. Please be patient